Fructify! (Fruits of the Spirit Intro)

Are you familiar with the fruits of the Spirit? In the letter to the Galatians, Paul lists nine qualities that are integral to the believer’s life (5:23). And as we live our lives before the Lord in worship and humility, the Holy Spirit is going to develop each one in turn.

These nine qualities: love, joy, peace, long-suffering (or patience), gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness (or teachability), and temperance (or self-control) are more than just emotion, more than a mental activity. Each one is an aspect, a component of Jesus’ very character and personality. And if we define these oft-repeated qualities any other way than how Jesus would, we dilute their true meaning.

In the posts that follow we’ll inspect one fruit at a time.


One thought on “Fructify! (Fruits of the Spirit Intro)

  1. Thank you for the defintions. I like that you explain things just in case some people have no idea what you are talking about.<—Me.:)

What do you think? Lemme know! I'd love to talk.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s